Achievements & Awards Dental Hygiene Faculty Students

Dental Hygiene Alumnae Receive Awards3 min read

November 6, 2013

Dental Hygiene Alumnae Receive Awards3 min read

Ann Arbor, MI — November 6, 2013 — Six graduates of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program were honored by the Michigan Dental Hygienists’ Association during the organization’s recent annual House of Delegates meeting in Lansing.

Christine Farrell

Christine Farrell (DH 1981) received the Roger Hill Friend of the Profession Award for her contributions to dental hygiene within the state, for her community service, participation in social service organizations and for her legislative activities.

Currently a course director in the School’s Degree Completion E-Learning Program and the Master of Science Degree in Dental Hygiene Program, Farrell has served as the director of the Michigan Department of Community Health since 2010.  Throughout her career she has been active in local, state and national dental hygiene organizations.  She was president of the Michigan Dental Hygienists’ Association (1993-1994) and editor of the Bulletin of the Michigan Dental Hygienists’ Association (1998-2001).

Allison Restauri, Janet Kinney and Anne Gwozdek display certificates for 100% U-M dental hygiene faculty membership in ADHA and for encouraging more than 90% of U-M dental hygiene students to upgrade their student memberships to professional memberships.

Allison Restauri (BS Degree Completion Program 2011), U-M faculty advisor to the student chapter of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association, was elected to serve a one-year term as MDHA vice president.  Prior to being elected to the state-level office, she has served as a Trustee for the Washtenaw District Dental Hygienists’ Society since 2011.

Stephanie Marx (left) presented Jennifer Suminski with the Macomb District Dental Hygienists’ Society’s Outstanding Dental Hygienist of the Year Award.  Both are students in the School’s online Master of Science Degree Dental Hygiene Program. 

Jenny Dennings, Jennifer Suminski, Tiffany Mandryga received an Outstanding Dental Hygienist Award from their respective dental hygiene societies. 

Dennings, an adjunct faculty member, received the award from the Genesee District Dental Hygienists’ Society for serving as president of this component organization. 

Suminski, an online master’s degree dental hygiene student, was honored by the Macomb District Dental Hygienists’ Society for her role as president. 

Mandryga, who earned her degree this year in the Degree Completion E-Learning Program, was recognized by the Detroit District Dental Hygienists’ Society for awards received from the American Association of Public Health Dentistry and the American Dental Hygienists’ Association

For the second consecutive year, Elizabeth Easter (BSDH 2012) received the MDHA’s Springboard Award for her involvement in the U-M Student Chapter of ADHA during the three years she was in the dental hygiene program and her involvement in community-based dental hygiene.

In addition to the individual awards, the School’s dental hygiene program was recognized for having 100 percent of its faculty members, 30 total, who belong to the American Dental Hygienists’ Association.  The School’s dental hygiene program was also recognized for its success in persuading more than 90 percent of graduates of the class of 2013 and the bachelor’s degree completion program to shift their student memberships to full ADHA memberships after receiving their degree.