Achievements & Awards Faculty Students

Dental Students, DH Faculty Member Receive ADEA Awards1 min read

March 28, 2013

Dental Students, DH Faculty Member Receive ADEA Awards1 min read

Ann Arbor, MI — March 28, 2013 — Three dental students and a dental hygiene faculty member from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry received awards for their work during the recent annual session of the American Dental Education Association in Seattle.

J.J. Sae-ung, a fourth-year dental student was one of 12 winners of the ADEA/Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Products Preventive Dentistry Scholarship.  The $2,500 scholarship is awarded to predoctoral dental students who have demonstrated academic excellence in preventive dentistry.  The award is applied to a student’s tuition and fees.

Rachel Sheridan, a third-year dental student received an ADEA/Gies Foundation/AADR Academic Dental Careers Fellowship.  The program provides dental students numerous opportunities during the next 12 months to experience the rewards and benefits of teaching and an academic career. 

Sarah Moeller, an adjunct clinical lecturer in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship to pursue further education at the baccalaureate, master’s, or doctoral degree level.  The award honors the memory of Prof. Linda Rubinstein DeVore who was active in dental hygiene education, scholarship, and public service.