Achievements & Awards Staff

Annual award presentation highlights staff service to School of Dentistry3 min read

January 3, 2024

Annual award presentation highlights staff service to School of Dentistry3 min read

Ann Arbor, Mich., Jan. 3, 2024 – During its annual event to acknowledge and honor the contributions of staff at the School of Dentistry, the school highlighted staff for service milestones as well as presenting the third annual Great Impressions Awards to staff in seven categories.

The awards were presented in late November during a reception hosted by Mark Fitzgerald, Senior Associate Dean for Community-Based Collaborative Care and Education, Dean Jacques Nör and members of the leadership team.

During his remarks, Dean Nör shared his perspective on the critical importance of staff to help the school fulfill its mission. “Without your day-to-day efforts, our school would be unable to provide patient care, support our students’ education and conduct research.  We are the school we are today thanks to your contributions.  Thank you for all you do to support our school.”

Susan Flannagan (second from left), a Research Lab Specialist Senior, was acknowledged for 40 years of service to the School of Dentistry by Dean Jacques Nör (left). Flannagan works in the lab and clinical research unit of Drs. Margherita Fontana and Carlos Gonzalez, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, also pictured.

In the service anniversary categories, staff members were acknowledged for 10, 20, 30 and 40 years of service to the university. Recipients are:

10 years: Deverall Baty, LeeAnn Bodette, Amy Chin, Paula Goetting-Minesky, Weldon Higgins, Gina Taylor-Dicks, and Cassandra White.

20 years:  Michelle Banda, Cassandra Callaghan, YuanYuan Hu, Jennifer Peterson, Karyn Procter-Wicks, and Kristy Warner.

30 years: Ladrina Adams.

40 years: Susan Flannagan.

For the third year, the school awarded its Great Impression Awards to staff nominated and voted on by their peers and faculty for outstanding work. Categories include patient care, administrative support, student support, research support, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) support, faculty support, and the Tooth Fairy Award for overall outstanding support to the school.  

Recipients of the Great impression Awards are:

Patient care: Keely Russell, Dental Assistant Senior in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine.

Administrative support:  Veronica Slayton, Dental Assistant Senior in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine.

Student support: Teresa Patterson, Student Administrative Assistant Senior in the Office of Academic Affairs.

Research support: Alice Ou, Dental Hygienist in the Dental Hygiene division of the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine.

DEI support: Alica Baker, Allied Health Intermediate Supervisor in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine.

Faculty support:  Erika Roberts, Assistant to the Dean in the Dean’s Office.

Tooth Fairy Award: Mary Ann Gietek, Facilities Coordinator for the school.

Award recipients received a trophy and a cash award.


The University of Michigan School of Dentistry is one of the nation’s leading dental schools engaged in oral healthcare education, research, patient care and community service.  General dental care clinics and specialty clinics providing advanced treatment enable the school to offer dental services and programs to patients throughout Michigan.  Classroom and clinic instruction prepare future dentists, dental specialists and dental hygienists for practice in private offices, hospitals, academia and public agencies.  Research seeks to discover and apply new knowledge that can help patients worldwide.  For more information about the School of Dentistry, visit us on the Web at:  Contact: Lynn Monson, associate director of communications, at, or (734) 615-1971.